Canku Ota Logo
Canku Ota
Canku Ota Logo
(Many Paths)
An Online Newsletter Celebrating Native America
pictograph divider
Tuba City Primary School Honors Navajo Language Student Achievement
by Rosanda Suetopka - Navajo-Hopi Observer
Tuba City Primary School students in the Navajo Language program show off their language skills to their parents and community at a dinner honoring their accomplishments Dec.10. (photo by Rosanda Suetopka - Navajo-Hopi Observer)

Tuba City, AZ - Students gathered with their parents, grandparents, teachers and community members Dec. 10 in the Tuba City Primary School cafeteria for a traditional meal to celebrate tribal language fluency in classroom programs that are part of the students' daily academic work.

Navajo language instructors Royd Lee, Ella Bedonie, and Violet Tso make sure their students have a daily lesson in the Navajo language using conversation, color and number identification, questions and descriptions of things they see every day.

The daily language routine helps to reinforce Navajo fluency and create a comfortable atmosphere for the students to exchange conversation, ideas and thoughts in their Native language.

Students who have excelled in their language programs this semester were recognized during an award ceremony. The students also gave presentations in Navajo to the visiting crowd.

The opening program was in Navajo starting with the Pledge of Allegiance by Rainee Honanie, National Anthem sung by Miara Bilagody and a welcome address from principal Dr. Justin Roberson.

Tuba City School District royalty provided entertainment by this year's TCUSD school district royalty including Little Miss Kindergarten Princess Alyssa Bennett, Miss TCPS Princess Miara Bilagody, Miss ENIS Princess Aleathia Williams, Miss Tuba City Junior High Princess Rochelle Jackson and Miss Tuba City High Princess Tanisha George.

"I'm very proud of our students and their awareness of their culture and the importance of their own tribal language," Roberson said. "The teachers work daily with them to increase their conversational fluency."

Students sang "We wish you a Merry Christmas" in Navajo and were presented language award certificates.

Students receiving awards for August were Eriana Begay, Kathrine Nez, Vanessa Shepherd, Tayden Arizona, Scott Attikai, Malayzia Yazzie, Lyla Secody, Marai Bilagody, Hope Tsosie, JB Curtis, Taylor Yazzie, Shayne Nez, Danielle Kanuho, Treyden Arizona, Kayli Bennett, Bode Dugi, Aaliyah Daw, Leighton Raye, Lillie Chief, River Cody, Kurtis Gimber, Shalane Dugi, Hailee Tallman, Branden Manychildren, Lucas Beard, Cassandra Richie, Sheldon Lewis and Logan Jackson.

Students receiving awards for September were Derricka Begay, Lauren Fowler, Aiden Yoe, Arieyana Begay, Redro Martinez, Arika Begay, Nizhonie Descheenie, Autumn Claw, Jesse Jensen, Ashlyn Riggs, Tristan Sam, Chambrie Dejesus, Tristan Benally, Shea Descheenie, Dylan Smith, Miara Bilagody, Jordan Adson-White, Maria Macaraig, Keyon Jenson, Aleathia Williams, Rueben Turner, Cylan Yellowhair, Penelope Pastrana, Jade Clifford, Tamara Sellers, Ariyanna Begay, Jasmine Schmidt, Albranden Byjoe and Tydell Kenny.

Students receiving awards for October were Maelei Bowen, Kylie Knowles, Shelby Haskie, Shyarlieh Manygoats, Olivia Yazzie, Moneka Boone, Alyssa Bennett, Trea Descheenie, Kaitlyn Acothley, Brandon Browning, Maya Buck, Breyden Tallman, Erica Kaya, Melik Fowler, Kimimila Bedonie, Jayvin Sellers, Chase Reed, Carl King, Kodee Butler, Kelroy Johnson Jr. , Anysia Honahni, Joel Crawford, Laken Hatathlie, Maximus Welch, Kiyanna Begay, Dominic Barlow, Orion Allen, Allen Hudson,and Kharlynn Neztsosie.

Students receiving awards for November were Laughter Small Canyon, Kaysen Carr, Delanna Yazzie, Maric Bilagody, Robyn Claw, Boshayden Manygoats, Riley Fowler, Yuki Fowler, Avery Tsosie, Jayshauna Benally, Moraes Hathathlie, Georgia Meyers, David Nornelas, Nadia Martinez, Uriah Yazzie, Anelisa Baca, Hyler Peterson, Amelia Holmes, Bryson Parrish, Keegan Small, Carla Shortman, Deron Maloney, Shashia Dugi, Jayden Curtis, Kaleena Crawfork, Shaelee Orillie, Shineil John and Jannie Scott.

Students receiving awards for December were Aniya Mann, Shaeana Kahanu, Kimora George, Alanina Dugi, Tikari Draper, Stanson Chee, Deron Joe, Rainee Honanie, Alaina Daw, Stephen Attikai, Arianna Bracker, Teton Martinez, Shina Norcross, Cameron SmallCanyon, Raycynthia Zahne, Javier Akee, Shaylynn McCloskey, Ayden C arr, Tori Johnson, Melaki Fowler, Kailor Begay, Kyrel Dohi, Dallas Neztsosie, Shylah Bitsinnie, Jayden Curtis, Jordon Dugi, Dakota Tom, Stephon Begay ans Corey Small Canyon.

pictograph divider
Home PageFront PageArchivesOur AwardsAbout Us
Kid's PageColoring BookCool LinksGuest BookEmail Us
pictograph divider
  Canku Ota is a free Newsletter celebrating Native America, its traditions and accomplishments . We do not provide subscriber or visitor names to anyone. Some articles presented in Canku Ota may contain copyright material. We have received appropriate permissions for republishing any articles. Material appearing here is distributed without profit or monetary gain to those who have expressed an interest. This is in accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. Section 107.  
Canku Ota is a copyright © 2000 - 2017 of Vicki Williams Barry and Paul Barry.
Canku Ota Logo   Canku Ota Logo
The "Canku Ota - A Newsletter Celebrating Native America" web site and its design is the
Copyright © 1999 - 2016 of Paul C. Barry.
All Rights Reserved.

Site Meter
Thank You

Valid HTML 4.01!